Affiliated Faculty

Dr. Rafael Lara-Alecio Rafael Lara-Alecio, Ph.D.
Professor, Director
107H Harrington Tower
MS 4225
Phone: 979.845.3467
Email: a-lara@tamu.edu
  • Bilingual/ESL education
  • Assessment and evaluation
  • Curriculum development and implementation for ELLs

Dr. Beverly Irby Beverly J. Irby, Ed.D.
Professor, Co-Director
513 Harrington Tower
MS 4226
Phone: 979.862.2092
Email: irbyb@tamu.edu
  • Instructional leadership
  • Public school administration

Dr. Fuhui Tong Fuhui Tong, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Associate Director
107I Harrington Tower
MS 4225
Phone: 979.845.7979
Email: fuhuitong@tamu.edu
  • Bilingual/ESL assessment and evaluation
  • Methodologies for studying ELLs
  • Longitundinal data analysis

Héctor H. Rivera, Ph.D.
Assisstant Professor
107G Harrington Tower
MS 4225
Phone: 713.291.7094
Email: hhrivera@tamu.edu
  • Resilience
  • Socio-emotional learning
  • Learning environments 
  • Educational program development
  • Capacity-building in community settings

Trez Jones, Ph.D.
Assistant Director, Texas A&M Cybersecurity Center
Donald L. Houston Center, 200 Discovery Dr. 
MS 4254
Phone: 979.845.7398
Email: rtjones@tamu.edu
  • Cybersecurity
  • Instructional technologies 
  • Technology management

Dr. Yolanda Padron

Yolanda Padrón, Ed.D.
Professor
Department of Educational Psychology
107E Harrington Tower
MS 4225
Phone: 979.845.5625
Email: ypadron@tamu.edu

  • Biliteracy
  • Reading strategies
  • Resiliency
  • Classroom observation

Dr. Hersh Waxman Hersh Waxman, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Teaching, Learning, and Culture
111B Harrington Tower
MS 4232
Phone: 979.862.1724
Email: hwaxman@tamu.edu
  • Classroom instruction and observation
  • School reform
  • Students at risk
  • Urban education

Dr. Mario Torres

Mario Torres, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Educational Administration and Human Resource Development
529 Harrington Tower
MS 4226
Phone: 979.458.3016
Email: mstorres@tamu.edu

  • Policy in education
  • Education law, politics, and ethics
  • Quantitative methods

Dr. Oiman Kwok

Oiman Kwok, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Educational Psychology
720 Harrington Tower
MS 4225
Phone: 979.458.1407
Email: omkwok@tamu.edu

  • Health-related quality of life
  • Longitudinal data analysis
  • Mediation analysis

Dr. Myeongson Yoon

Myeongson Yoon, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Educational Psychology
719 Harrington Tower
MS 4225
Phone: 979.862.3515
Email: myoon@tamu.edu

  • Measurement bias in psychological scales
  • Factor analysis
  • Item responsive theory

Dr. Jeffrey Liew

Jeffery Liew, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Educational Psychology
722 Harrington Tower
MS 4225
Phone: 979.845.1239
Email: jeffrey.liew@tamu.edu

  • Social, emotional, and personality development
  • Emotional and self-regulation in academic, psychological, and health-related outcomes

Dr. Dezhen Song

Dezhen Song, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
311 H.R. Bright Building
MS 3112
Phone: 979.845.5464
Email: dzsong@cse.tamu.edu

  • Robotic sensing
  • Networked robots
  • Vision systems
  • Stochastic modeling

Dr. Gwendolyn Webb-Hasan

Gwendolyn Webb-Hasan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Educational Administration and Human Resource Development
523 Harrington Tower
MS 4226
Phone: 979.458.3973
Email: gwebbj@tamu.edu

  • Culturally responsive PreK-12 leadership and administration
  • Multicultural education
  • Science

Dr. Patricia Larke

Patricia Larke, Ed.D.
Professor
Department of Teaching, Learning, and Culture
339 Harrington Tower
MS 4232
Phone: 979.845.8384
Email: plarke@tamu.edu

  • Hispanic and African American girls in math and science
  • Teachers for diverse classrooms
  • Culturally responsive pedagogy

Dr. Malt Joshi

Malt Joshi, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Teaching, Learning, and Culture
204 Harrington Tower
MS 4232
Phone: 979.845.8384
Email: mjoshi@tamu.edu

  • Bilingualism and biliteracy
  • Differential diagnosis and intervention of reading and spelling problems
  • Orthography and dyslexia

Dr. Jean Madsen

Jean Madsen, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Educational Administration and Human Resource Development
521 Harrington Tower
MS 4226
Phone: 979.862.2421
Email: jamadsen@tamu.edu

  • Organizational effectiveness and proportional representation in demographically diverse organizations
  • Data-driven planning in multi-racio/ethnic environments and its impact on organizational outcomes

Dr. Fredrick Nafukho

Fredrick Nafukho, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Educational Administration and Human Resource Development
511DB Harrington Tower
MS 4225
Phone: 979.862.3395
Email: fnafukho@tamu.edu

  • Organizational learning and performance improvement
  • International human resource development
  • Investment in human capital for human development